top of page

Day 3- Capilano Suspension Bridge & Gameday vs. Fraser Valley

It was our second full day in Canada and another early start to the day. The day before we scaled the heights of Grouse Mountain and today’s challenge was the Capilano Suspension Bridge. Located in a haven of forest and rocks, the bridge stretched across a rocky ravine suspended hundreds of feet above the ground. Honestly, I wasn’t scared…okay, maybe just a little. It wasn’t the height of the bridge that rattled me but how the entire bridge swayed and bounced beneath my feet. Also, the cliff walking was death defying (and also a misnomer) as the walkways were literally separate from the cliff itself. It seemed as though I was walking on air as the glass floor revealed the depths of the scenery below me. However, the view was definitely worth the nerves and occasional cries for help. Seeing the beauty'

of the Douglas Firs and forest terrain was a once in a lifetime opportunity. As an added bonus, I received a certificate for my bravery of the suspension bridge.

After a long day of sightseeing and free time a.k.a sleeping, game time rolls around. An hour bus ride becomes even longer as traffic is backed up for miles along a two way highway. We make it to the game a little tired and rushed but we push through to hopefully start the game on a good note. We fought and came out on top in a 90-77 victory over University of the Fraser Valley. Topping off the late night with some burgers and sandwiches, I can say it was a rewarding end to an eventful day.

Looking back on these past few days, I feel a sense of accomplishment and gratitude for the chance to be in such a position to experience and enjoy these amazing moments. This trip is becoming more than just travel—it is a opportunity to learn, a bonding experience and a plethora of memories.

I know when everything is said and done, the things I will treasure the most about my time at FAU is neither the games nor the scores but rather the people I was with and the moments we shared together. This is only the beginning…look out Canada, we’re coming for more!

 


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round
bottom of page